Exit Accessibility View

Early years reference group

Key to successful delivery of the free entitlement is for local authorities to achieve a balance in their priorities; securing sufficiency, quality and accessibility in free provision. Critical to achieving this is a strong partnership between local authorities and providers in all sectors; private, voluntary, independent, maintained and childminders, to enable them to assess and meet demand according to local circumstances and market.

In 2007 Wiltshire brought together a representative group to consider all early years funding issues in response to the Government's plans to reform Nursery Education Funding.
This is known as the Early Years Reference Group (EYRG).

The group operates under the terms of reference which you can find in our download section. 

One of the group's first tasks was to develop a funding formula which introduced a basic hourly rate for each type of provider with additional supplements for deprivation and rurality. This is known as the Single Funding Formula.

Early years reference group representatives

  • Mark Cawley, New Road Nursery, Chippenham
  • Rosemary Collard, Snapdragons Nursery, Atworth
  • John Proctor, South Hills Nursery, Salisbury
  • Fiona Webb, Sunny Days Children’s Nursery, Calne
  • Lee Churchill, Acorns Preschool, Kington St. Michael
  • Sarah Hawkins, TnB Garrison Early Years and Play, Tidworth and Bulford
  • Clare Palmer, Jack and Jill Preschool, Calne
  • Trudi Surman, St. Osmund's Preschool, Salisbury
  • Russell Martin, Spurgeons
  • Ashley Harris, Bradford on Avon
  • Jane Boulton, Springboard District Specialist Centre

Position vacant

  • Angela Brennan, Coordinator for Childcare
  • Angela Everett, SEND Locality Manger - South & West
  • Jenny Harvey, Lead Officer for Free Entitlement Funding
  • Nicola McCann, Early Years and Co-ordination Manager
  • Marie Taylor, Head of Finance Care

Share this page


pdf icon

Terms of reference

eyrg consultation sff review

Size 193kb

Last updated: 20 August 2018 | Last reviewed: 20 August 2018