If you are reading this page using a screenreader, we support ARIA landmarks for quick navigation too

Wiltshire Core Strategy Partial Review

Customer notice

We are updating our website with a mobile-friendly design. This page will be updated with the new design soon. Thank you for your patience.

Please tell us what you think about our website, we welcome your feedback.

The Wiltshire Core Strategy Development Plan Document (DPD) was adopted in January 2015 and covers the whole of Wiltshire (excluding Swindon and the New Forest National Park) and outlines a sustainable spatial strategy for future development in the county including:

  • key principles of development
  • the location of strategic sites for new housing and employment development
  • policies with which planning applications will be assessed
  • a key diagram displaying the spatial aspects of the core strategy

The purpose of the partial review of the adopted Wiltshire Core Strategy (WCS) is to introduce further detailed development management policies to the adopted WCS, in effect removing the saved former district local plan policies and to update the WCS to ensure that it addresses any gaps in conformity with the National Planning Policy Framework (NPPF) and the supporting Planning Practice Guidance (PPG) which were identified through the WCS Examination in Public (EIP).

Consultation of the scope of the partial review of Wiltshire Core Strategy

We are undertaking a consultation for six weeks from 13 April 2015 designed to seek representations on the proposed scope of the policy areas which need to be revised. We welcome your comments on this and whether we should consider other policy areas.

The period for submitting representations relating to the partial review of the Wiltshire Core Strategy begins at 9am on Monday 13 April 2015 and lasts for six weeks, closing at 5pm on Tuesday 26 May 2015. Representations received beyond this date will not be considered.

The scoping consultation document and supporting documents and information on how to make a comment are as follows:

Hard copies of these documents will also be made available from 13 April 2015 during normal office hours at the following locations:

  • Monkton Park, Chippenham
  • 3-5 Snuff Street, Devizes
  • 27-29 Milford Street, Salisbury - up to Friday 24 April
  • Bourne Hill, Salisbury  - from Monday 27 April
  • County Hall, Trowbridge
  • In local libraries across Wiltshire

How to comment

In accordance with the council’s Statement of Community Involvement (SCI), comments are invited on these documents over a six week and one day period until 5pm on Tuesday 26 May 2015. Comments can be made either:

Spatial Planning
Economic Developent and Planning
Wiltshire Council
County Hall
Bythesea Road
Trowbridge
Wiltshire
BA14 8JN

If responding by post, comment forms are available from libraries and main council offices. Please use a separate form for each representation you wish to make.

For further information please contact us on 01225 713223 or email: spatialplanningpolicy@wiltshire.gov.uk

Next steps

Once we have received all feedback on the scope of the review, we will do more research and prepare evidence on each policy area. Reasonable alternative options will be considered for each policy area which will be subject to sustainability appraisal, incorporating requirements for Strategic Environmental Assessment (SEA) and Habitat Regulations Assessment (HRA) as appropriate. The SEA and HRA will be a key part of the evidence base and a determining factor in deciding on the revisions to be made to the WCS. We anticipate that a draft policy document showing changes to the WCS will be published for consultation in July 2015 together with proposed amendments to the policies map (pre-submission consultation). Following the pre-submission consultation, we anticipate that the partial review will be submitted for examination in December 2015.

Statement of Community Involvement

Find out more about the Statement of Community Involvement consulation taking place.

Contact Details (LiveLink)

Multiple Contacts:
eMail: spatialplanningpolicy@wiltshire.gov.uk
Telephone: 01225 713223
Out of hours:
Fax:
Postal Address:

Spatial Planning Team
Wiltshire Council
County Hall
Bythesea Road
Trowbridge
Wiltshire
BA14 8JN


In Person:
DX:

Last updated: 15 April 2015

Actions

  • Pay
  • Report
  • Book
  • Apply

Search

This website

Contact details

Contact Wiltshire Council

Choose your address - step one

To view contact details for this service, first, enter your postcode.

Choose your address

I live outside Wiltshire

Call us

Tel: 01225 713223

Write to us

Spatial Planning Team
Wiltshire Council
County Hall
Bythesea Road
Trowbridge
Wiltshire
BA14 8JN