If you are reading this page using a screenreader, we support ARIA landmarks for quick navigation too

School term and date calendar

Customer notice

We are currently updating our website with a cleaner, mobile-friendly design. This page will be updated with the new design soon. Thank you for your patience.

Please tell us what you think about our website, we welcome your feedback.

School term and holidays

Term dates for community and voluntary controlled schools are set by the local authority in consultation with neighbouring authorities and groups representing school staff.

The setting of term dates in all voluntary aided and foundation schools is the governing body’s responsibility. Academies are also responsible for determining their own dates. These schools can adopt the same dates as those agreed by the council but they are under no obligation to do so. Please check individual school websites for clarification if required.

Schools in the Mere and Tisbury area may choose between Wiltshire and Dorset dates.

Please see below for a summary of school term dates for Wiltshire’s community and voluntary controlled schools for the academic year 2016/17 and 2017/18:

School year 2016/2017

Term Term starts Term ends Holidays
Term 1 2016 Thursday 01/09/16 Friday 21/10/16 Monday 24/10/16 - Friday 28/10/16
Term 2 2016 Monday 31/10/16 Friday 16/12/16 Monday 19/12/16 - Monday 02/01/17
Term 3 2017 Tuesday 03/01/17 Friday 10/02/17 Monday 13/02/17 - Friday 17/02/17
Term 4 2017 Monday 20/02/17 Friday 07/04/17 Monday 10/04/17 - Friday 21/04/17
Term 5 2017 Monday 24/04/17 Friday 26/05/17 Monday 29/05/17 - Friday 02/06/17
Term 6 2017 Monday 05/06/17 Friday 21/07/17 Monday 24/07/17 - Thursday 31/08/17

School year 2017/18

Term Term starts Term ends Holidays
Term 1 2017 Friday 01/09/17 Wednesday 18/10/17 Thursday 19/10/17 - Friday 27/10/17
Term 2 2017 Monday 30/10/17 Wednesday 20/12/17 Thursday 21/12/17 - Wednesday 03/01/18
Term 3 2018 Thursday 04/01/18 Friday 09/02/18 Monday 12/02/18 - Friday 16/02/18
Term 4 2018 Monday 19/02/18 Thursday 29/03/18 Friday 30/03/18 - Friday 13/04/18
Term 5 2018 Monday 16/04/18 Friday 25/05/18 Monday 28/05/18 - Friday 01/06/18
Term 6 2018 Monday 04/06/18 Wednesday 25/07/18 Thursday 26/07/18 - Monday 03/09/18

Staff development days

In Wiltshire, all five staff development days (or the equivalent of 30 hours) are set at the individual school's discretion. Your child's school will be able to inform you of their arrangements for taking these training days. All days will be taken within the 195 published term days.

When can your child leave school?

For further information on when your child can leave school please refer to the Raising the Participation Age (RPA) page.

Contact Details (LiveLink)

Multiple Contacts:
eMail: directordce@wiltshire.gov.uk
Telephone: 01225 713757
Out of hours:
Postal Address: Commissioning & Performance Branch
Children's Services
Wiltshire Council
County Hall
Bythesea Road
BA14 8JN
In Person:

Last updated: 19 May 2016



This website

Contact details

Contact Wiltshire Council

Choose your address - step one

To view contact details for this service, first, enter your postcode.

Choose your address

I live outside Wiltshire

Call us

Tel: 01225 713757

Write to us

Commissioning & Performance Branch
Children's Services
Wiltshire Council
County Hall
Bythesea Road
BA14 8JN