Toggle menu

Information for electors voting in the General Election 2024.

A UK parliamentary election has been called for 4 July 2024. Deadlines for registering to vote, and applying for a postal vote, have now passed. To apply to vote by proxy, you have until 5pm on 26 June 2024: GOV.UK: Apply to vote by proxy (opens new window)

Overseas electors may consider applying to vote by proxy. For more information see the General Election 2024 page.

Wiltshire schools achieve Wiltshire Year of Reading bronze award

Nineteen schools in Wiltshire have received a bronze Wiltshire Year of Reading award and four have received a bronze and silver award.

Published 24 May 2022

The Wiltshire Year of Reading was launched in September 2021 to encourage people of all ages to delve into reading and the scheme involves schools, libraries and communities.

As part of the Wiltshire Year of Reading, all schools in the county were invited to sign up to the reading awards scheme that aims to enhance reading in each school through a series of achievements to tick off along the way. The scheme is different for primary and secondary and features a range of milestones to reach bronze, silver and gold. Early years settings also have a range of books to cover to start children learning from an early age.

Cllr Laura Mayes, Cabinet Member for Education and Skills visited Colerne CofE primary school to present their certificates. She said: "I am delighted that so many schools have signed up to take part in the Wiltshire Year of Reading and it is fantastic that some schools have now completed both the bronze and silver awards.

"At Wiltshire Council we are committed to ensuring that all young people get the best start in life. The Covid restrictions and lockdowns over the last few years have had a significant impact on learning across all year groups. As schools work hard to ensure pupils catch up and have a strong education, we have sought to support them through the introduction of the Wiltshire Year of Reading."

Schools who achieve the gold award can become 'beacon reading schools', sharing their outstanding practice within others. To mark the achievement of each stage, schools will receive certificates.

The schools to achieve the bronze award are:

  • Alderbury and West Grimstead CofE primary school in Alderbury
  • Christ Church CofE primary school in Bradford on Avon
  • Colerne CofE primary school in Colerne
  • Crudwell CofE primary school in Malmesbury
  • Derry Hill Church of England Voluntary Aided primary school in Calne
  • Hullavington CofE primary and nursery school
  • Kennett Valley CofE (VA) primary school in Lockeridge
  • Kington St Michael CofE primary school in Kington St Michael
  • Lavington school (secondary) in Market Lavington
  • Luckington community school in Luckington
  • Ludgershall Castle primary school in Ludgershall
  • Netheravon All Saints CE primary school in Nertheravon
  • St John's CofE primary school in Warminster
  • St Mary's RC primary school in Chippenham
  • St Thomas à Becket CofE (VA) primary school in Tilshead
  • Staverton CofE primary school in Staverton
  • Stanton St Quintin primary school In Stanton St Quintin
  • Studley Green primary school in Trowbridge
  • The Minster C.E. primary school in Warminster

Schools that have achieve the silver award:

  • Christ Church CofE primary school in Bradford on Avon
  • Colerne CofE primary school in Colerne
  • Ludgershall Castle primary school
  • The Minster C.E. primary school in Warminster
Explore the topic

Share this page

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share by email